The baptism of Jesus Christ..

Today’s key bible verse is Matthew 3:16 which states “As soon as Jesus was baptized, he went up out of the water. At that moment heaven was opened,and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and alighting on him.”

The issue of baptism is a very interesting one. There are two types of baptism that were spoken of in the book of Matthew. In Matthew 3:11 it was said by John the Baptist “I baptize you with water for repentance, but he who is coming after me is mightier than I, whose sandals I am not worthy to carry. He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and fire”. It states that there is the baptism of water and the baptism of the Holy Spirit was going to come in the future. As we know the baptism of the Holy Spirit is already available to us as it states in the book of Acts. In this post I will be discussing the baptism of water and what it means to us as followers of Christ.

When I was young, I forget how old I was, I was baptized in a Catholic church. This baptism was the sprinkling of water of my head and the saying of a prayer or two. Some people claim that this isn’t a true baptism per se as that of Jesus Christ. We as Christians stand on the word and we do things according to what the bible says. By exploring this issue deeper we can empower ourselves and others and do what is right according to God. Hosea 4:6 says “My people are perishing due to lack of knowledge..” by delving deeper into this issue we can then make a move based on the knowledge we have acquired from the word of God.

As it states in Matthew 3:16 as soon as Jesus was baptized, he went up out of the water. The New Living Translation Bible says “he came up out of the water” while The Voice says that “Jesus emerged – from his baptism”. By Jesus coming up, it means that he was down, down in the water. To emerge means to come up from or to arise from immersion. By reading this clearly you can see that in order to be baptized you have to be fully submerged into the water and this emerge or come up from the water. Through reading this I have come to the conclusion that in order for baptism to be real it has to be  the baptism of which one is submerged into water.  At the age of  17 I got the full baptism which I got submerged into water. I have to say, it was one of the greatest things that I have ever done in my life. After getting baptized my life began to change. In the physical world there wasn’t much of a change but in the spiritual things were happening. I had a dream a night or two after my baptism which I will post about in the future because the dream has a deeper meaning in regards to baptism and spiritual changes. Through the correct baptism of water one can expect spiritual changes or a sign informing them of a spiritual change. In Matthew 3:16 the verse finishes of saying “At that moment heaven was opened,and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and alighting on him.” This is a clear example of a positive spiritual change. As soon as Jesus was baptized and he came out of water and he SAW the Spirit of God. Yes he SAW the Spirit of God descending like a dove. Brothers and sisters, do you realize how important the baptism of water is through this experience ? To me through reading this it is clear that when one gets baptized there is some sort of acceptance that you receive from  God. This is because as great as God is, he Spirit came down and touched Jesus.  After the Spirit of God come down upon Jesus, Matthew 3:17 says that “And suddenly a voice came from heaven, saying, “This is My beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased.”

In the Word of God we read that other people got baptized as well in the same way that Jesus did. Acts 8:36-38 states “And as they were going along the road they came to some water, and the eunuch said, “See, here is water! What prevents me from being baptized?” And he commanded the chariot to stop, and they both went down into the water, Philip and the eunuch, and he baptized him. And when they came up out of the water, the Spirit of the Lord carried Philip away, and the eunuch saw him no more, and went on his way rejoicing.” In the same way that Jesus was baptized, the Spirit of God came to Phillip after he had been baptized. Through this one can say that when you do get baptized expect to experience the Spirit of God.  If you haven’t been baptized the biblical way, I urge you to find a good bible based church which will baptized you through submerging you in water. I pray that in the day that you read this message you will be empowered to act accordingly to the word.

May the Lord bless you and protect you now and forever.

Leave a Reply

